Alone vs Lonely….sometimes they do overlap

dinner-copy-thumbAs I was leaving to go grab my dinner, I received a phone call from a long time friend, Jeremy. We chatted and laughed as usual, but then he started asking me what I’ve been up to, and what I do for fun. The more and more I talked, the more I realized it was all about work, work outside of work, and wining/dining myself. Finally he stated “I’m concerned that you’re alone most of the time and always working.” It wasn’t until then that I realized how much time I actually spend alone.  My social life for the most part is nonexistent, and I overwork like work will be out of style by 2014.  It was nice to see that a good friend cared about me enough to tell me about my ridiculous overworking ways, but what really stood out to me was the abnormal time I spend alone…and the fact that I’m okay with that.

I preach all the time about there being a huge difference between being alone and being lonely. I am a firm believer of that. Being alone is physical…being lonely is an emotion. Being alone can be positive and negative,while being lonely can only be negative. However, I won’t deceive others into thinking that the two don’t overlap every now and then. Every day in being alone is not a great one. For the most part I keep myself occupied with work, spending time with my son, and of course football (seasonal), so being alone doesn’t bother me much. I have great friends and suitors that I have a great time with when I do decide to go beyond the four walls of my home, but still every now and then there is a random feeling of loneliness. Sure, I could call up a few people and laugh/cry/vent about my day, but sometimes that doesn’t seem to be enough. It may have been enough the day before, and it may be enough the day after. However, at that current moment the lack of companionship causes a void.

It took me a while to understand the out-of-the-blue lonely feelings that were happening, but then I realized it was totally normal to feel that way every now and then. It’s healthy to long for companionship, as long as it doesn’t consume you. So don’t be alarmed when being alone and being lonely overlap. Everyone feels lonely at times, including people in relationships.

Leave a Reply

